Entrepreneur Spotlight: James Hickey

Meet James Hickey: If you were to Google “San Diego Networker” I’m 97.4 % sure that James Hickey’s picture would show up! As both a master networker online and in person, he has taken these talents and created a business to help others. With all of the scams out there promising to get you 10,000+ Twitter & Facebook followers in one week (I personally get contacted daily by these frauds) it can be hard to know who to trust with your social media strategies.

No matter what type of business you own, if you don’t have a strong online presence you are at the very least limiting your possibilities and are behind the competition.

James Hickey has over 81,000 followers on Twitter, almost 5,000 followers on Instagram just to name two sites. As a person that has been his student (both in person and via webinars) I can tell you that he is the real deal! Be sure to watch his video at the end of this interview.

James Hickey

What is the name of your business and your website URL?

James Hickey: My main company name is JMH Marketing Group. My main two websites are: http://www.InternetMarketingTrainingCenter.Net and http://www.InternetMarketingCoahcingProgram.Net

Sarah Conteh: What inspired you to create your company?

James Hickey: After 18 years in the gas station and auto repair business, I was looking for a career change. I learned a lot of marketing my prior business during those 18 years and was also interested in Internet Marketing. So it was a fun and exciting transition to what I do now.

Sarah Conteh: How and when did you start your business?

James Hickey: I started my company in April 2008, for a few months before that, I was getting paid by realtors and other people to help them with their Internet Marketing. Once I saw how busy I was getting, it was time to form a company.

Sarah Conteh: Tell me about your professional background and experience.

James Hickey: Never went to college.Managed and owned up to 10 gas stations between 1990-2008. Once I made choice to become Internet Marketing Consultant, I started getting advanced training and got a mentor. From 2007 until current, I work with small to large businesses and start-up companies. I also created a course in 2011 to train people to become Internet Marketing Consultants.

Sarah Conteh: What should your customers expect when they come to you?

James Hickey: Excellent customer service and very trackable results.

Sarah Conteh: What has been the toughest lesson you have been taught about owning a business?

James Hickey: That you are your own boss and have to keep motivating yourself on a daily basis. I also believe in finding a mentor or a coach.

Sarah Conteh: What has been the most rewarding part of owning your own business?

James Hickey: Time. Freedom. Money.

Sarah Conteh: What are some of your specific marketing strategies?

James Hickey: Lead Generation, Search Marketing, Social Media Marketing

Sarah Conteh: What is your target market?

James Hickey: Start Up Companies and Large Business Owners that want more leads and sales from their websites. They also must want Online Branding with Social Media.

I also look for people who want a career in my Industry. People who want to become full-time Internet/Social Media Marketing Consultants.

Sarah Conteh: Do you have any specific books, blogs or podcasts that you recommend to other business owners?

James Hickey: The E-myth and Think and Grow Rich are some of my favorite books.

Sarah Conteh: Do you do much in person networking? If yes, what do you like and don’t like? If no, why not?

James Hickey: Yes, normally 1 or 2 business mixers per week. I love networking, especially because I can offer business owners something they need. More clients from their website.

Sarah Conteh: Has there been anyone in particular that helped motivate you to start your business? If yes, tell me about them and how they helped you

James Hickey: Yes, Jay Kubassak. He helped me change my career and embrace my entrepreneurship.

Sarah Conteh: What are your long-term goals for your business?

James Hickey: Larger business consulting clients and grow my training center for Internet Marketing Consultants.

Sarah Conteh: How can people find you on social media?

James Hickey:

https://www.facebook.com/jameshickeysdentrepreneur

https://www.facebook.com/internetmarketingbusinesscenter

https://twitter.com/sdentrepreneur

https://instagram.com/sdentrepreneur

https://youtube.com/sdentrepreneur

http://www.linkedin.com/in/sdccpro/

Sarah Conteh: Share some fun facts about you!

James Hickey: I am a tournament chess player, ranked in top 10,000 in the USA and I am also a Black Diamond Snow skier.

Sarah Conteh: Tell me a story about one of your favorite projects and or client/customer.

James Hickey: One of my first clients early one, was the inventor of the BOSU Fitness Ball. He was famous in the offline world but didn’t have an Internet/Social Media strategy in place. It was fun and rewarding for both of us.

 

If you are interested in being featured in this “Entrepreneur Spotlight” series contact Sarah (Nance) Conteh today!  

Leave a Reply

